Described as a pianist of “searching intelligence and magnificent technique”, British musician Matthew Schellhorn has a distinctive profile displaying consistent artistic integrity and a commitment to bringing new music to a wider audience.
Read More »

Coming soon

Stacks Image 1974

Herbert Howells: Piano Music, Vol. 1

Available 10 July 2020
not a nuance was left unexpressed, not a silence given less than its due importance, not an emotional pivot-point neglected
MusicWeb International
Schellhorn possesses a seemingly perfect and complete piano technique for such things and his readings, always vivid and dramatic, were deeply satisfying
Musical Opinion

Featured premiere

Stacks Image 2206
Wilson, Ian (b.1964)
Mutazione: Piano Concerto (2003) for piano & orchestra
Duration: 18′
World Premiere 18/01/2016 Ulster Hall, Belfast, UK; with Ulster Orchestra / David Brophy (conductor); broadcast 30/01/2016 Hear and Now, BBC Radio 3 [listen below]

Latest writing

Stacks Image 2226
Musicians’ ‘darkest hour’ has exposed the fragility of their working terms, writes Matthew Schellhorn