Matthew Schellhorn


Stacks Image 13717
Geoffrey Bush & Joseph Horovitz: Songs
Naxos 8.571378
released July 2017

Matthew Schellhorn partners soprano Susanna Fairbain in performances of the songs of Geoffrey Bush and Joseph Horovitz, including several World Premiere recordings.

  • Track listOpen or Close
    Geoffrey Bush (1920–1998):

    Mirabile Misterium
    (A great and mighty wonder) (1985)*
    Words: trad.
    1 I. A marvellous thing have I mused in my mind
    2 II. About the field they pipèd right
    3 III. There is a flow’r sprung of a tree
    4 IV. Jesu Christ, my leman sweet
    5 V. Blessed Mary, moder virginal
    6 VI. When I see on Rode Jesu, my leman
    7 VII. Out of your sleep arise and wake

    Three Songs of Ben Jonson (1952)
    Words: Ben Jonson (1572–1637)
    8 I. Echo’s Lament for Narcissus
    9 II. The Kiss
    10 III. A Rebuke

    11 Cuisine Provençale (1982)*
    Words adapted from Virginia Woolf (1882–1941) by the composer

    Joseph Horovitz (b. 1926):

    12 Foie-gras (1974)*
    Words: Michael Flanders (1922–1975)

    13 Romance (1975, arr. 2016)*
    Words: Alistair Sampson (1929–2006)

    14 The Garden of Love (2014)*
    Words: William Blake (1757–1827)

    15 Lady Macbeth (1970)
    Words: William Shakespeare (c.1564–1616)

    16 Zum 11ten März (1995)*
    Words: Theodor Körner (1791–1813)

    17 Malicious Madrigal (1970)*
    Words: Alistair Sampson

    Geoffrey Bush:

    18 Love for such a cherry lip (1984)*
    Words: Thomas Middleton (1580–1627)

    archy at the zoo (1994)*
    Words: Don Marquis (1878–1937)
    19 i. centipede
    20 ii. camel and giraffe
    21 iii. hippopotamus
    22 iv. hen
    23 v. octopus
    24 vi. man and monkey
    25 vii. penguin
    26 viii. ichneumon
    27 ix. shark
    28 x. young whale

    Yesterday (Nine songs for Kay to poems by Charles Causley) (1990)*
    Words: Charles Causley (1917–2003)
    29 I. Daniel Brent
    30 II. Lady Jane Grey
    31 III. Smuggler’s Song
    32 IV. Mistletoe
    33 V. Sleigh Ride
    34 VI. By the Tamar
    35 VII. Morwenstow: a dialogue
    36 VIII. Transience
    37 IX. Wishes



    Susanna Fairbairn (soprano)
    Matthew Schellhorn (piano)

    The available sung texts can be accessed at

    Recorded: 19–21 December 2016 at The Menuhin Hall, Stoke d’Abernon, UK

    Producer: Martin Cotton
    Engineer and editor: Simon Weir (Classical Media)

    Publishers: Novello & Co. (1–7, 15, 17); Elkin Music International (8–10); Stainer & Bell Ltd. (11, 18); Composer MS (12–14, 16); Thames Publishing (19–37)

    Booklet notes: Roderick Swanston and Martin Cotton

    Cover: Storm over the Tamar Estuary by merc67 (
  • GalleryOpen or Close
  • Programme notesOpen or Close
  • Further informationOpen or Close
    This recording was made possible thanks to generous assistance from The British Music Society Charitable Trust (Registered Charity No. 1122597) (Michael Hurd Bequest)
See also
Stacks Image 72525
twitter-m soundcloud-m youtube-m vimeo-m rss-m email-32